Back to search
Find a Tender
AWARD
Complete
09TS Victoria Line Supply of Vertical and Lateral Dampers
Published 19 Oct 2026
19 Oct 2026
- Primary CPV
-
34600000 *
Railway and tramway locomotives and rolling stock and associated parts
- Location
- 🇬🇧 London
- Value
- £523,668
- Contract
-
2.3 years Duration
16/10/2026 22/01/2029
- Contract Types
-
34 *Transport equipmentFull CPV Breakdown
- SME suitable
- Not stated
Publisher Address
5 Endeavour Square, London, E20 1JN, United Kingdom · UKI
Contact
Award Criteria
Not specified
Related tenders
Transport for London
All notices from this publisher Same CPV code
34600000 *
All notices with this CPV code
Reference: WS2825603201
In line with the Procurement Act 2023 this Contract Details Notice is being published following contract award.
This goods-only direct award procurement is for the supply of vertical and lateral dampers to support the 09TS Victoria Line Fleet with phase 2 of their Heavy Overhaul Program Lift (HOPL) project.
These dampers are critical suspension components connecting the bogies (wheelsets) to the car body, primarily to absorb vibrations, control excessive movement, and ensure a smooth stable ride by managing vertical bumps and side-to-side (lateral) swaying, boosting passenger comfort and reducing noise. The dampers work together to isolate the car body from track imperfections, especially important for faster high frequency lines.
ZF Group are the Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) who is the sole holder of the intellectual property rights (IPR) and exclusive rights necessary for the supply and maintenance . These rights prevent any other supplier from legally or technically providing the required solution. No reasonable alternative or substitute exists that would meet the specification without infringing on these rights. Therefore, a direct award to ZF Group is justified under the Procurement Act 2023, specifically Schedule 5, Paragraph 5 - Single Supplier Grounds. Safety and reliability considerations further reinforce the need for a direct award. Dampers degrade over time, and their performance must remain within specification to ensure safe operation. Introducing non-OEM dampers would necessitate extensive validation, including vehicle dynamics modelling, in-service trials, and degradation analysis.
The materials are currently supplied by ZF Services UK Limited.
Due to the bespoke nature of them and the technical dependency, only ZF Services UK Limited can ensure full compatibility and continuity of service.
Total contract amount is circa £523,668
Awarded to
Full CPV breakdown
- 34600000 — Railway and tramway locomotives and rolling stock and associated parts (primary)
Notice details
- Buyer type
- Other public body
- Competition
- Direct award (no competition)
- Contract type
- Goods
- Winning supplier
- Large company
- Procurement method
- Direct award
- Main category
- Goods
- Legal basis
- UKPGA 2023/54
- Notice status
- Complete
- Award status
- Active
- Reserved / special regime
- Utilities
- Language
- EN
- Published
- 19 Oct 2026 14:53
- OCID
- ocds-h6vhtk-06c4ef
- Notice ID
- WS2825603201
Organisations on this notice
Supplier Large
Abbeyfield Road, Nottingham, NG7 2SX, United Kingdom
GB-COH 01137722
Full notice record
54 detailsEverything the publisher included in this notice, organised by section.
Organisations
| Party 1 › Name | Transport for London |
| Party 1 › Address › Street | 5 Endeavour Square |
| Party 1 › Address › Town / city | London |
| Party 1 › Address › Postcode | E20 1JN |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 1 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKI41 |
| Party 1 › Contact › Email | KimBish@tfl.gov.uk |
| Party 1 › Role | buyer |
| Party 1 › Classification › Description | Public undertaking |
| Party 2 › Name | ZF SERVICES UK LIMITED |
| Party 2 › Address › Street | Abbeyfield Road |
| Party 2 › Address › Town / city | Nottingham |
| Party 2 › Address › Postcode | NG7 2SX |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 2 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKF14 |
| Party 2 › Contact › Email | simon.hargreaves@zf.com |
| Party 2 › Role | supplier |
| Party 2 › Link | http://aftermarket.zf.com |
| Party 2 › Business size | large |
| Party 2 › VCSEs | No |
| Party 2 › Public service mission organisation | No |
| Party 2 › Sheltered workshop | No |
Buyer
| Name | Transport for London |
Tender
| Title | 09TS Victoria Line Supply of Vertical and Lateral Dampers |
| Status | complete |
| Procedure type | direct |
| Procedure | Direct award |
| Reason for this procedure | Single supplier - intellectual property or exclusive rights The justification for awarding this proposed contract in accordance with the Procurement Act 2023 Direct Award to ZF Services UK Limited is compliant with Section 41.6,Schedule 5,Paragraph 5 : Paragraph 5 states: The following conditions are met in relation to the public contract- (a)due to a particular supplier having intellectual property rights or other exclusive rights, only that supplier can supply the goods, services or works required, and (b)there are no reasonable alternatives to those goods, services or works. |
| Special regime | utilities |
| Lot › Status | complete |
| Document › Document type | Conflict of interest |
| Document › Description | Not published |
Awards
| Status | active |
| Category | goods |
| Supplier › Name | ZF SERVICES UK LIMITED |
| Item › CPV › Description | Railway and tramway locomotives and rolling stock and associated parts |
| Item › Delivery › Region (NUTS) | UKI |
| Item › Delivery › Country | GB |
| Item › Delivery › Country | United Kingdom |
Contracts
| Status | active |
| Contract period › Start | 16 Oct 2026 |
| Contract period › End | 22 Jan 2029 |
| Value › Value incl. VAT | £628,402 |
| Value › Value | £523,668 |
| Value › Currency | GBP |
| Above threshold | Yes |
| Signed | 16 Oct 2026 |
| No Agreed Metrics Rationale | N/A |
| Document › Document type | Contract notice |
| Document › Description | Contract details notice on Find a Tender |
| Document › Link | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/098570-2026 |
| Document › Published | 19 Oct 2026 |