Back to search
Find a Tender
PIN
Planned Goods
NSpOC: Sovereign Sensor - Active RF Radar Capability
Published 17 Aug 2026
17 Aug 2026
- Primary CPV
-
38115100 *
Radar surveillance equipment
- Location
- 🇬🇧 Westminster, London
- Value
- £25,000,000
- Contract
-
3 years Duration
01/08/2027 01/08/2030
- Contract Types
-
38 *Laboratory, optical & precision equipmen...Full CPV Breakdown
- SME suitable
- Not stated
Publisher Address
22 Whitehall, London, SW1A 2EG, United Kingdom · UKI32
Contact
Award Criteria
Not specified
Related tenders
Department for Science, Innovation & Tec...
All notices from this publisher Same CPV code
38115100 *
All notices with this CPV code
Reference: UKSAC26_0046
**This notice supercedes UK3 Planned Procurement Notice reference 2026/S 000-009745, which was issued on 3rd February 2026. Please note the timetable provided remains indicative and subject to internal approvals**
The UK Space Agency (UKSA), as part of the National Space Operations Centre (NSpOC) programme, intends to commence a competitive procurement for the deployment of a sovereign, high‑power (~1 MW class) space surveillance radar in the Southern Hemisphere (final location is still to be determined but bidders should note the requirement to deploy into the Southern Hemisphere) to enhance the UK's Space Surveillance & Tracking (SST) and Space Domain Awareness (SDA) capability.
It is expected that the radar system will operate as a key national asset, providing enhanced detection, tracking and custody of resident space objects, particularly small-size debris and operational satellites in Low Earth Orbit. It will deliver significant improvements to UK resilience, space safety, collision avoidance, re-entry monitoring, fragmentation detection, and wider civil-military situational awareness objectives.
The radar shall be capable of detecting a target with radar cross-section of -22 dBsm (approx. 5cm) at 1,000 km slant range, with probability of detection Pd ≥ 95% and probability of false alarm Pfa ≤ 10⁻⁵, using a Swerling 3 target fluctuation model with a maximum of 100ms integration time. The system shall produce Azimuth (0.01°), Elevation (0.01°), Range (10m), Range Rate (~0.1 m/s) and Radar Cross Section (supplier in m2) measurements. Values in brackets are 1 sigma uncertainties. The requirement is for 24 hour remote, autonomous operation and achieving 10,000 tracks per day at a minimum (equivalent to 417 tracks per hour).
The budget for this hardware requirement is capped at £25,000,000 exclusive of VAT and will cover the following elements:
* Radar hardware (including, but not limited to, antenna systems, signal generation/timing/processing hardware, power systems, cooling and thermal management)
* Radar software (noting the Authority is likely to specify software covers both edge and cloud elements, with a 10 year licence including free security and basic maintenance updates)
* Software development to integrate software with wider Government systems (including capture and implementation of user stories/change requests to better exploit the equipment provided)
* Two separate training courses - one focused on tasking/sensor capabilities and one focused on hardware support and maintenance
* Obtaining spectrum rights and permissions: whilst the Authority will support the appointed contractor with this, responsibility will rest with the appointed contractor
* Software and hardware support and maintenance for the initial 3 year contract term
* Cyber assurance
* Project and contract management (including interface with the infrastructure contractor)
* Collaboration around installation and commissioning at final deployment location
The following is currently expected to be in scope of the infrastructure and enabling works contract, which is expected to be valued at £5,000,000 exclusive of VAT. Prospective bidders should note that at least some staff are likely to require SC or DV clearance for this requirement. To assist prospective bidders with planning, an indicative requirements list is provided below. Depending on final deployment location, some of these elements may not be required:
* Planning investigation and, if required, planning consents
* Site surveys and ground works (including environmental and site safety surveys)
* Enabling works to prepare the site for radar deployment (e.g. construction of concrete base)
* Site civils and foundations (design and build)
* Power and data connectivity
* Potential utilities connections as required (e.g. drainage)
* Collaboration around installation and commissioning at final deployment location
* Temporary or permanent access to site, as required
* Site security (e.g. perimeter fencing, CCTV, gates)
* Site support
* Project and contract management (including interface with the radar hardware contractor)
The following is expected to be in scope of neither contract:
* Ongoing utilities costs
* Spare components (the radar contractor will be expected to include in the pricing schedule the cost of spare components)
A suitable location for deployment has been identified but discussions cannot progress further until the actual equipment specification and characteristics are known. The appointed contractor will therefore be required to work closely with the Contracting Authority and the appointed infrastructure contractor to ensure successful deployment. Bidders will be provided with details of the broad location and constraining assumptions at PSQ stage to assist with technical responses, but should note the final location is unlikely to be disclosed until tender stage. The Contracting Authority will only enter into discussions relating to deployment locations with bidders under NDA, noting that detailed discussions will not be possible at SQ stage.
Please note the Contracting Authority will not respond to any further queries raised on the technical specification or conditions of participation at this point: these will need to be raised as formal clarifications at PSQ stage via the e-tendering portal.
Full CPV breakdown
- 38115100 — Radar surveillance equipment (primary)
Notice details
- Buyer type
- Central government
- Competition
- Restricted / competitive (suppliers are shortlisted first)
- Contract type
- Goods
- Procurement method
- Competitive flexible procedure
- Main category
- Goods
- Above threshold
- Yes
- Legal basis
- UKPGA 2023/54
- Notice status
- Planned
- Renewal
- Time extension may be required if known risks materialise (e.g. delays in securing permissions) or if additional time is required to train personnel ahead of handover.
- Submission method
- Bidders will be required to have an executed NDA in place prior to the release of the Preliminary Selection Questionnaire. For the avoidance of doubt, the PSQ will NOT be released to any bidders without an NDA. Bidders are required to take steps to safeguard the information within the PSQ in their discussions with potential subcontractors. To obtain a copy of the NDA, please email details of your authorized signatory (name and email address) and authorized witness (name and email address) to uksa.commercial@dsit.gov.uk. This procedure will be hosted on the Jaggaer e-procurement portal. Suppliers are required to register for both the Central Digital Platform (https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/procurement-act-2023-short-guides/suppliers-how-to-register-your-organisation-and-first-administrator-on-find-a-tender-in-three-easy-steps-html) and Jaggaer e-procurement portal (https://beisgroup.ukp.app.jaggaer.com/). Suppliers should ensure they are registered on both by 23:59 on Thursday 10th September to ensure no delay in accessing PSQ documentation. Please note the Contracting Authority will not extend PSQ submission deadlines for bidders who do not put NDAs in place or register with the digital portals by the deadlines specified above.
- Enquiries close
- 9 Oct 2026
- Award decision expected
- 1 Aug 2027
- Language
- EN
- Published
- 17 Aug 2026 13:21
- OCID
- ocds-h6vhtk-069e5c
- Notice ID
- UKSAC26_0046
Full notice record
48 detailsEverything the publisher included in this notice, organised by section.
Planning
| Document › Document type | Planned procurement notice |
| Document › Description | Planned procurement notice on Find a Tender |
| Document › Link | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/078126-2026 |
| Document › Published | 17 Aug 2026 |
Organisations
| Name | Department for Science, Innovation & Technology |
| Address › Street | 22 Whitehall |
| Address › Town / city | London |
| Address › Postcode | SW1A 2EG |
| Address › Country | GB |
| Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Address › Region (NUTS) | UKI32 |
| Contact › Email | uksa.commercial@dsit.gov.uk |
| Role | buyer |
| Classification › Description | Public authority - central government |
Buyer
| Name | Department for Science, Innovation & Technology |
Tender
| Title | NSpOC: Sovereign Sensor - Active RF Radar Capability |
| Status | planned |
| Item › CPV › Description | Radar surveillance equipment |
| Value › Value incl. VAT | £30,000,000 |
| Value › Value | £25,000,000 |
| Value › Currency | GBP |
| Procedure type | selective |
| Procedure | Competitive flexible procedure |
| Category | goods |
| Above threshold | Yes |
| Submission Terms › Electronic submission | allowed |
| Submission Terms › Languages | en |
| Expression Of Interest Deadline | 30 Oct 2026 |
| Questions period › End | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Award decision period › End | 1 Aug 2027 |
| Lot › Status | planned |
| Lot › Value › Value incl. VAT | £30,000,000 |
| Lot › Value › Value | £25,000,000 |
| Lot › Value › Currency | GBP |
| Lot › Selection Criteria › Criterion › Criterion 1 › Type | economic |
| Lot › Selection Criteria › Criterion › Criterion 1 › Description | * Completion of a Financial Viability risk Assessment tool, where a score of high risk or above may result in exclusion * Subsidiaries will be required to complete a Parent Company guarantee |
| Lot › Selection Criteria › Criterion › Criterion 2 › Type | technical |
| Lot › Selection Criteria › Criterion › Criterion 3 › Description | Suppliers will be asked to complete a six-page technical summary of their proposed solution and how this complies with the specification set out. This will be evaluated and scored from 0-100, with a minimum quality threshold of 60 set. Only the 5 highest scoring suppliers will be invited to tender stage. |
| Lot › Selection Criteria › Criterion › Criterion 3 › For Reduction | Yes |
| Lot › Suitable for › SMEs | Yes |
| Lot › Contract period › Start | 1 Aug 2027 |
| Lot › Contract period › End | 1 Aug 2030 |
| Lot › Contract period › Can be extended to | 31 Mar 2032 |
| Lot › Can be renewed | Yes |
| Lot › Renewal › Description | Time extension may be required if known risks materialise (e.g. delays in securing permissions) or if additional time is required to train personnel ahead of handover. |
| Document › Document type | Bidding documents |
| Document › Access Details | PSQ documentation will be made available to suppliers who are under NDA and registered for the CDP and e-tendering portal. Tender documentation will be made available to suppliers who successfully pass SQ stage and are invited. |
| Communication › Expected publication | 14 Sep 2026 |