Back to search
Find a Tender
AWARD
Complete
NLA Media Access Licence for Newspaper Content
Published 4 Jun 2026
4 Jun 2026
- Primary CPV
-
79980000 *
Subscription services
- Location
- 🇬🇧 Westminster, London
- Value
- £249,356
- Contract
-
9 months Duration
16/06/2026 31/03/2027
- Contract Types
-
79 *Business services: law, marketing, consu...Full CPV Breakdown
- SME suitable
- Not stated
Publisher Address
Caxton House, 6-12 Tothill Street, London, SW1H 9NA, London, SW1H 9NA, United Kingdom · UKI32
Contact
Professional Services Team
Award Criteria
Not specified
Related tenders
Department for Work & Pensions
All notices from this publisher Same CPV code
79980000 *
All notices with this CPV code
Reference: ocds-h6vhtk-06ad92
DWP requires ongoing, legally compliant access to UK and international news content to support operational activity, media monitoring, and strategic communications.
The Department for Work and Pensions (“the Authority”) intends to award this contract directly to NLA Media Access Limited (“NLA”) in accordance with Section 41 of the Procurement Act 2023 (“PA23”). This is justified on the basis that the services can be supplied only by a particular supplier due to the existence of exclusive rights (paragraph 5 of Schedule 5 PA23). NLA is the collective licensing body representing a wide range of UK newspaper and magazine publishers and is the only organisation currently authorised to grant licences permitting the copying, sharing and internal distribution of such content across multiple publishers. There is no reasonable alternative or substitute capable of providing an equivalent service, and the absence of competition is not the result of any artificial narrowing of the Authority’s requirements.
This notice is being published after the commencement of the contract in order to ensure transparency in respect of the Authority’s decision to make this direct award. Due to the urgent requirement to ensure continuity of lawful access to licensed content, the contract was awarded prior to publication of this notice. The Authority acknowledges that the notice was not issued in advance of the contract award and is now publishing this information to provide visibility of the justification and the Authority’s obligations under the Procurement Act 2023.
Awarded to
Full CPV breakdown
- 79980000 — Subscription services (primary)
Notice details
- Buyer type
- Central government
- Competition
- Direct award (no competition)
- Contract type
- Services
- Winning supplier
- Large company
- Procurement method
- Direct award
- Main category
- Services
- Above threshold
- Yes
- Legal basis
- UKPGA 2023/54
- Notice status
- Complete
- Award status
- Pending
- Language
- EN
- Published
- 04 Jun 2026 13:52
- OCID
- ocds-h6vhtk-06ad92
- Notice ID
- ocds-h6vhtk-06ad92
Organisations on this notice
Supplier Large
Mount Pleasant House, Lonsdale Gardens, Tunbridge Wells, Kent, TN1 1HJ, United Kingdom
GB-PPON PLMM-3896-RGZM
Key dates
- Future Signature Date
- 16 Jun 2026 · Scheduled
Full notice record
52 detailsEverything the publisher included in this notice, organised by section.
Organisations
| Party 1 › Name | Department for Work & Pensions |
| Party 1 › Address › Street | Caxton House, 6-12 Tothill Street, London, SW1H 9NA |
| Party 1 › Address › Town / city | London |
| Party 1 › Address › Postcode | SW1H 9NA |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 1 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKI32 |
| Party 1 › Contact › Name | Professional Services Team |
| Party 1 › Contact › Email | professional.services@dwp.gov.uk |
| Party 1 › Role | buyer |
| Party 1 › Link | https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/department-for-work-pensio... |
| Party 1 › Classification › Description | Public authority - central government |
| Party 2 › Name | NLA Media Access |
| Party 2 › Address › Street | Mount Pleasant House, Lonsdale Gardens, Tunbridge Wells |
| Party 2 › Address › Town / city | Kent |
| Party 2 › Address › Postcode | TN1 1HJ |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 2 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKJ46 |
| Party 2 › Contact › Email | arose@nla.co.uk |
| Party 2 › Role | supplier |
| Party 2 › Business size | large |
| Party 2 › VCSEs | No |
Buyer
| Name | Department for Work & Pensions |
Tender
| Title | NLA Media Access Licence for Newspaper Content |
| Status | complete |
| Procedure type | direct |
| Procedure | Direct award |
| Lot › Status | complete |
| Document › Document type | Conflict of interest |
| Document › Description | Not published |
Awards
| Title | NLA Media Access Licence for Newspaper Content |
| Status | pending |
| Value › Value incl. VAT | £299,226.72 |
| Value › Value | £249,355.60 |
| Value › Currency | GBP |
| Category | services |
| Above threshold | Yes |
| Supplier › Name | NLA Media Access |
| Item › CPV › Description | Subscription services |
| Item › Delivery › Region (NUTS) | UK |
| Item › Delivery › Country | GB |
| Item › Delivery › Country | United Kingdom |
| Contract period › Start | 16 Jun 2026 |
| Contract period › End | 31 Mar 2027 |
| Document › Document type | Award notice |
| Document › Description | Transparency notice on Find a Tender |
| Document › Link | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/052830-2026 |
| Document › Published | 4 Jun 2026 |
| Milestone › Type | Future signature date |
| Milestone › Due | 16 Jun 2026 |
| Milestone › Status | scheduled |