Back to search
Find a Tender
TENDER
Active Services
Aberdeen Geothermal Feasibility Project - University of Aberdeen
Published 19 Dec 2025
19 Dec 2025
Closed 19 Jan 2026
- Primary CPV
-
76300000 *
Drilling services
- Location
- 🇬🇧 Aberdeen City and Aberdeenshire, Scotland
- Value
- £400,000
- Contract
- Not specified
- Contract Types
-
76 *Services related to oil & gasFull CPV Breakdown
- SME suitable
- Not stated
Publisher Address
University Office, King's College, Aberdeen, AB24 3FX, United Kingdom · UKM50
Contact
Award Criteria
- Technical
- Price
Related tenders
University of Aberdeen
All notices from this publisher Same CPV code
76300000 *
All notices with this CPV code
Reference: AU25/18
This Invitation to Tender (ITT) invites qualified contractors to provide services for the technical project management, drilling, logging, fibre‑optic instrumentation, and optional testing of a geothermal research borehole (>500-1000 m) at the University of Aberdeen campus as part of the Aberdeen Geothermal Feasibility Pilot (AGFP).
The aim of this project is to safely drill and complete a deep borehole on the University of Aberdeen campus to a minimum depth of 500 m, and to extend as deep as safely achievable within site and budget constraints, with the option of a second shallow monitoring well. The borehole(s) will provide a long-term research platform for geothermal, geological, petrophysical, hydrological, and geophysical investigations. The deep borehole will be equipped with a Distributed Temperature Sensing (DTS) and Distributed Acoustic Sensing (DAS) systems and a mechanism for groundwater sampling, flow and recharge testing, allowing long-term monitoring and characterisation of subsurface thermal, geophysical and hydrological behaviour.
Full CPV breakdown
- 76300000 — Drilling services (primary)
Notice details
- Buyer type
- Other public body · Education
- Competition
- Open competition (any supplier can bid)
- Contract type
- Services
- Procurement method
- Open procedure
- Main category
- Services
- Legal basis
- CELEX 32014L0024
- Notice status
- Active
- Submission method
- https://www.publictendersscotland.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/esop/pts-host/public/pts/web/login.html
- Award decision expected
- 19 Jan 2026
- Covered by GPA
- Yes
- Language
- EN
- Published
- 19 Dec 2025 09:26
- Deadline
- 19 Jan 2026 12:00
- OCID
- ocds-h6vhtk-05f9df
- Notice ID
- AU25/18
Organisations on this notice
Aberdeen Sheriff Court
Review Body
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Lots (1)
Lot 1
£400,000
This Invitation to Tender (ITT) invites qualified contractors to provide services for the technical project management, drilling, logging, fibre‑optic instrumentation, and optional testing of a geothermal research borehole (>500-1000 m) at the University of Aberdeen campus as part of the Aberdeen Geothermal Feasibility...
· Active
Full notice record
55 detailsEverything the publisher included in this notice, organised by section.
Tender
| Title | Aberdeen Geothermal Feasibility Project - University of Aberdeen |
| Status | active |
| CPV › Description | Drilling services |
| Category | services |
| Lot › Award criteria › Criterion › Criterion 1 › Name | Technical |
| Lot › Award criteria › Criterion › Criterion 1 › Type | quality |
| Lot › Award criteria › Criterion › Criterion 1 › Description | 90 |
| Lot › Award criteria › Criterion › Criterion 2 › Type | price |
| Lot › Award criteria › Criterion › Criterion 2 › Description | 10 |
| Lot › Value › Value | £400,000 |
| Lot › Value › Currency | GBP |
| Lot › Contract period › Duration In Days | 120 |
| Lot › Can be renewed | No |
| Lot › Submission Terms › Variant Policy | Not allowed |
| Lot › Has options | No |
| Lot › Status | active |
| Item › CPV › Description | Drilling services |
| Item › Delivery › Region (NUTS) | UKM50 |
| Submission Method | Electronic submission |
| How to submit | https://www.publictendersscotland.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/esop/... |
| Document › Document 1 › Document type | Economic selection criteria |
| Document › Document 2 › Document type | Technical selection criteria |
| Procedure type | open |
| Procedure | Open procedure |
| Covered by | GPA |
| Bidding period › End | 19 Jan 2026 |
| Submission Terms › Languages | en |
| Submission Terms › Bid Validity Period › Duration In Days | 90 |
| Award decision period › Start | 19 Jan 2026 |
| Bid Opening › Date | 19 Jan 2026 |
| Has Recurrence | No |
| Contract Terms › Has Electronic Ordering | Yes |
| Contract Terms › Electronic Invoicing Policy | allowed |
| Contract Terms › Has Electronic Payment | Yes |
Organisations
| Party 1 › Name | University of Aberdeen |
| Party 1 › Identifier › Legal Name | University of Aberdeen |
| Party 1 › Address › Street | University Office, King's College |
| Party 1 › Address › Town / city | Aberdeen |
| Party 1 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKM50 |
| Party 1 › Address › Postcode | AB24 3FX |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 1 › Contact › Email | e-sourcing@abdn.ac.uk |
| Party 1 › Contact › Link | https://www.publictendersscotland.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/esop/... |
| Party 1 › Role | buyer |
| Party 1 › Link | http://www.abdn.ac.uk/procurement |
| Party 1 › Buyer profile | https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/Search_AuthProfile.a... |
| Party 1 › Classification › Classification 1 › Description | Body governed by public law |
| Party 1 › Classification › Classification 2 › Description | Education |
| Party 2 › Name | Aberdeen Sheriff Court |
| Party 2 › Identifier › Legal Name | Aberdeen Sheriff Court |
| Party 2 › Address › Town / city | Aberdeen |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 2 › Role | Review body |
Buyer
| Name | University of Aberdeen |
Links
| Href | https://api.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/v1/Notice?id=ocds-r6ebe6-00... |