Back to search
Find a Tender
AWARD
Complete Services
Open Access LandIS Portal
Published 17 Oct 2025
17 Oct 2025
- Primary CPV
-
90714100 *
Environmental information systems
- Location
- 🇬🇧 Westminster, London
- Value
- £14,184,518
- Contract
- Not specified
- Contract Types
-
90 *Sewage, refuse, cleaning & environmental...Full CPV Breakdown
- SME suitable
- Not stated
Publisher Address
Seacole Building, 2 Marsham Street, London, SW1P 4DF, United Kingdom · UKI32
Contact
Jemma Godleman
Award Criteria
- Price
Related tenders
DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT, FOOD AND RURA...
All notices from this publisher Same CPV code
90714100 *
All notices with this CPV code
Reference: C30438
The existing LandIS agreement between Cranfield University (CU) and Defra sets out the conditions under which Defra can access:<br/><br/>• The platform which is owned and hosted by Cranfield for the provision of National Soil Map (NATMAP)<br/>• National Soil Inventory (NSI) and soil attribute data (SOILSERIES & HORIZON), and its supplementary data bases (broadly: the LandIS platform data).<br/><br/>All Crown bodies currently enjoy full royalty-free access to LandIS, and this available to charities and research institutions. Non-crown bodies such as the Environment Agency or Natural England, and other public sector bodies, private individuals, consultants, and businesses do not have royalty-free access to this data.<br/>Defra and Cranfield University are working towards reducing or removing some of the licencing restrictions pertaining to the afore mentioned datasets.
Awarded to
Full CPV breakdown
- 90714100 — Environmental information systems (primary)
Notice details
- Buyer type
- Central government · Environmental protection
- Competition
- Direct award (no competition)
- Contract type
- Services
- Bids received
- 1
- Winning supplier
- Large company
- Procurement method
- Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition
- Main category
- Services
- Legal basis
- CELEX 32014L0024
- Notice status
- Complete
- Award status
- Active
- Options
- 4 years 5 months + 1 year + 1 year + 1 year
- Covered by GPA
- Yes
- Language
- EN
- Published
- 17 Oct 2025 09:49
- OCID
- ocds-h6vhtk-04e30b
- Notice ID
- C30438
Competition
1
Bids received
0
Bids from SMEs
1
Foreign Bids From E U
0
Foreign Bids From Non E U
1
Electronic bids
Organisations on this notice
Supplier Large
Cranfield, Bedfordshire,, Cranfield, MK43 0AL, United Kingdom
+44 1234750111
N/A
Public Procurement Review Body
Review Body, Mediation Body, Review Contact Point
N/A, N/A, N/A, United Kingdom
Lots (1)
Lot 1
The existing LandIS agreement between Cranfield University (CU) and Defra sets out the conditions under which Defra can access:<br/><br/>• The platform which is owned and hosted by Cranfield for the provision of National Soil Map (NATMAP)<br/>• National Soil Inventory (NSI) and soil attribute data (SOILSERIES & HORIZON...
· Cancelled
Full notice record
58 detailsEverything the publisher included in this notice, organised by section.
Tender
| Title | Open Access LandIS Portal |
| Status | complete |
| CPV › Description | Environmental information systems |
| Category | services |
| Lot › Award criteria › Criterion › Type | price |
| Lot › Has options | Yes |
| Lot › Options › Description | 4 years 5 months + 1 year + 1 year + 1 year |
| Lot › Status | cancelled |
| Item › CPV › Description | Maintenance of information technology software |
| Item › Delivery › Region (NUTS) | UK |
| Procedure type | limited |
| Procedure | Award procedure without prior publication of a call for competition |
| Covered by | GPA |
| Procurement Method Rationale Classifications › Description | The procurement falls outside the scope of application of the directive |
| Reason for this procedure | Cranfield University and Defra own separate and joint Intellectual Property in the NATMAP, NSI and other associated supplementary Databases. This project will allow for the majority of the databases to be accessed via the Open or Restricted License by removing the current licencing requirements, whilst allowing the IP rights to be retained. This is a compliant Single Tender Action under Regulation 32 Public Contracts Regulations 2015, as we are protecting the exclusive rights held by both Defra and Cranfield University. |
Awards
| Status | active |
| Supplier › Name | Cranfield University |
Organisations
| Party 1 › Name | DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT, FOOD AND RURAL AFFAIRS |
| Party 1 › Identifier › Legal Name | DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT, FOOD AND RURAL AFFAIRS |
| Party 1 › Address › Street | Seacole Building, 2 Marsham Street |
| Party 1 › Address › Town / city | London |
| Party 1 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UK |
| Party 1 › Address › Postcode | SW1P 4DF |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 1 › Contact › Name | Jemma Godleman |
| Party 1 › Contact › Email | procurement@defra.gov.uk |
| Party 1 › Role | buyer |
| Party 1 › Link | https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/department-for-environment... |
| Party 1 › Buyer profile | https://defra-family.force.com/s/Welcome |
| Party 1 › Classification › Classification 1 › Description | Ministry or any other national or federal authority, including their regional or local subdivisions |
| Party 1 › Classification › Classification 2 › Description | Environmental protection |
| Party 2 › Name | Cranfield University |
| Party 2 › Identifier › Legal Name | Cranfield University |
| Party 2 › Address › Street | Cranfield, Bedfordshire, |
| Party 2 › Address › Town / city | Cranfield |
| Party 2 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UK |
| Party 2 › Address › Postcode | MK43 0AL |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 2 › Contact › Telephone | +44 1234750111 |
| Party 2 › Role | supplier |
| Party 2 › Link | http://www.cranfield.ac.uk |
| Party 2 › Business size | large |
| Party 3 › Name | Public Procurement Review Body |
| Party 3 › Identifier › Legal Name | Public Procurement Review Body |
| Party 3 › Address › Street | N/A |
| Party 3 › Address › Town / city | N/A |
| Party 3 › Address › Postcode | N/A |
| Party 3 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 3 › Contact › Email | publicprocurementreview@cabinetoffice.gov.uk |
| Party 3 › Role › Role 1 | Review body |
| Party 3 › Role › Role 2 | Mediation body |
| Party 3 › Role › Role 3 | Review contact point |
| Party 3 › Link | https://www.gov.uk/government/publications/public-procurement-review-s... |
Buyer
| Name | DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENT, FOOD AND RURAL AFFAIRS |
Contracts
| Status | active |
| Value › Value | £14,184,518 |
| Value › Currency | GBP |
| Signed | 29 Sep 2025 |