Back to search
Find a Tender
AWARD
Complete
Merchant Acquiring Services
Published 1 Oct 2026
1 Oct 2026
- Primary CPV
-
66172000 *
Financial transaction processing and clearing-house services
- Location
- 🇬🇧 Brent, London
- Value
- £900,000
- Contract
-
1.5 years Duration
15/10/2026 15/04/2028
- Contract Types
-
66 *Financial & insurance servicesFull CPV Breakdown
- SME suitable
- Not stated
Publisher Address
Brent Civic Centre, Engineers Way, Wembley, HA9 0FJ, United Kingdom · UKI72
Contact
Award Criteria
Not specified
Related tenders
London Borough of Brent
All notices from this publisher Same CPV code
66172000 *
All notices with this CPV code
Reference: CORP-2024-027
Merchant Acquiring is an essential contract from a financial perspective as it is necessary to enable residents and customers to pay the council by debit and credit card, over £100m a year is collected by the council using this contract.
This service is a key part of the council's support systems, and essential for the council to be able to collect payments by card as people expect in 2026.
The contract helps enable the goals set out in the Customer Access Strategy to strive to make the online customer journey accessible, user-friendly and straightforward, as customers expect to be able to pay for services online using their cards.
Direct award justification
This is a complex contract to re-procure, involving both a complex, technical procurement, and multiple council departments with differing specifications. If awarded to a different supplier then there is significant work to transition several of the council's financial systems to use the new supplier which would not be possible for technical and operational reasons before the existing contract expires. The Council cannot risk the disruption to this service as this would impact income collection via e-commerce, online or telephone payments from residents and customers.
Therefore, Officers intend to use this time in an effective way to plan a new procurement exercise and procure compliantly a suitably experienced supplier to deliver and support the transition to a possible new supplier of merchant acquiring services.
The Contract is above the applicable threshold for services under the Procurement Act 2023. Officers propose to rely on paragraph 13 of Schedule 5 to the Procurement Act 2023, concerning extreme and unavoidable urgency, as the legal basis for the direct award.
Officers consider that the direct award is strictly necessary to maintain an essential income-collection service and that a competitive procurement procedure cannot be completed within the time available before the current arrangements expire.
The direct award is limited to a period of up to 18 months. Officers intend to use that period to undertake a compliant procurement exercise and to plan and implement any necessary transition to a future provider.
Please see following report of the decision. https://democracy.brent.gov.uk/documents/s159372/Officer Key Decision Report.pdf
Description of risks to contract performance
The contracting authority reserves the right to modify the contract in reliance on Schedule 8 paragraph 8 of the Procurement Act 2023 where the contracting authority requires a modification for additional goods, services or works has arisen in addition to those already provided for in the contract; and using a different supplier would result in the supply of goods, services or works that are different from, or incompatible with, those already provided for in the contract; and the contracting authority considers that this would result in disproportionate technical difficulties in operation or maintenance or other significant inconvenience and the substantial duplication of costs for the authority.
Awarded to
Full CPV breakdown
- 66172000 — Financial transaction processing and clearing-house services (primary)
Notice details
- Buyer type
- Local authority
- Competition
- Direct award (no competition)
- Contract type
- Services
- Winning supplier
- Large company
- Procurement method
- Direct award
- Main category
- Services
- Above threshold
- Yes
- Legal basis
- UKPGA 2023/54
- Notice status
- Complete
- Award status
- Active
- Award date
- 20 Aug 2026
- Language
- EN
- Published
- 01 Oct 2026 15:17
- OCID
- ocds-h6vhtk-06f8a4
- Notice ID
- CORP-2024-027
Organisations on this notice
Supplier Large
1 Churchill Place, London, E14 5HP, United Kingdom
GB-PPON PXMW-8531-YVDM
Key dates
- Future Signature Date
- 14 Oct 2026 · Scheduled
Full notice record
54 detailsEverything the publisher included in this notice, organised by section.
Organisations
| Party 1 › Name | London Borough of Brent |
| Party 1 › Address › Street | Brent Civic Centre, Engineers Way |
| Party 1 › Address › Town / city | Wembley |
| Party 1 › Address › Postcode | HA9 0FJ |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 1 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKI72 |
| Party 1 › Contact › Name | Corporate Procurement |
| Party 1 › Contact › Email | corporate.procurement@brent.gov.uk |
| Party 1 › Contact › Telephone | +44 2089373615 |
| Party 1 › Role | buyer |
| Party 1 › Link | http://www.brent.gov.uk/ |
| Party 1 › Classification › Description | Public authority - sub-central government |
| Party 2 › Name | BARCLAYS BANK UK PLC |
| Party 2 › Address › Street | 1 Churchill Place |
| Party 2 › Address › Town / city | London |
| Party 2 › Address › Postcode | E14 5HP |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 2 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKI42 |
| Party 2 › Contact › Email | petar.preocanin@barclays.com |
| Party 2 › Role | supplier |
| Party 2 › Business size | large |
| Party 2 › VCSEs | No |
| Party 2 › Public service mission organisation | No |
| Party 2 › Sheltered workshop | No |
Buyer
| Name | London Borough of Brent |
Tender
| Title | Merchant Acquiring Services |
| Status | complete |
| Procedure type | direct |
| Procedure | Direct award |
| Lot › Status | complete |
Awards
| Title | Merchant Acquiring Services |
| Status | active |
| Date | 20 Aug 2026 |
| Value › Value incl. VAT | £1,080,000 |
| Value › Value | £900,000 |
| Value › Currency | GBP |
| Category | services |
| Above threshold | Yes |
| Supplier › Name | BARCLAYS BANK UK PLC |
| Item › CPV › Description | Financial transaction processing and clearing-house services |
| Item › Delivery › Region (NUTS) | UKI72 |
| Item › Delivery › Country | GB |
| Item › Delivery › Country | United Kingdom |
| Contract period › Start | 15 Oct 2026 |
| Contract period › End | 15 Apr 2028 |
| Document › Document type | Award notice |
| Document › Description | Contract award notice on Find a Tender |
| Document › Link | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/092942-2026 |
| Document › Published | 1 Oct 2026 |
| Milestone › Type | Future signature date |
| Milestone › Due | 14 Oct 2026 |
| Milestone › Status | scheduled |