Back to search
Find a Tender
AWARD
Complete
Portsmouth Advice Service
Published 12 Oct 2026
12 Oct 2026
- Primary CPV
-
85312300 *
Guidance and counselling services
- Location
- 🇬🇧 Portsmouth, South East
- Value
- No value specified
- Contract
-
3 years Duration
01/02/2027 31/01/2030
- Contract Types
-
85 *Health & social work servicesFull CPV Breakdown
- SME suitable
- Not stated
Publisher Address
Civic Offices, Guildhall Square, Portsmouth, PO1 2AL, United Kingdom · UKJ31
Contact
Award Criteria
Not specified
Related tenders
Portsmouth City Council
All notices from this publisher Same CPV code
85312300 *
All notices with this CPV code
Reference: P00005233
Portsmouth City Council ('the council') has selected a preferred bidder to provide an open access social welfare advice service for adults in Portsmouth. The service will provide specialist and generalist advice to residents and improve outcomes for
anyone living or working within the boundaries of the city and also be accessible by Portsmouth City Council (Portsmouth Homes) tenants accommodated outside of the city.
Service background
The purpose of the Service is to: "Provide the right advice and appropriate support to help me solve my problem".
The Service will provide expert advice on housing, welfare benefits, debt, income maximisation, employment rights, general family issues, and consumer issues, and general advice on other queries, such as access to services and support. The service will
hold registration with the Financial Conduct Authority for specialist debt counselling, and employ or have volunteers that are approved intermediaries for Debt Relief Orders.
All advice provided must be completely free of charge, confidential and impartial. The Service will be accessible in-person from a central location(s) within Portsmouth, as well as by telephone, email, and other channels that meet customers' needs. Home visits will also be offered where deemed necessary and appropriate.
The key outcomes for the service are centred around; financial wellbeing, housing stability, access to rights and entitlements, family and social stability, health and wellbeing, digital and self-advocacy, and service/system level outcomes.
The service will aim to provide early help to prevent customers reaching crisis point, and for those customers in crisis, it will help them to find solutions and address the underlying root causes to reduce the risk of future crisis.
In 2024/25, 14,288 people accessed the service with 13,666 receiving direct support. The service assists approximately 1,150 people per month and around 265 per week.
The highest areas of demand currently are: welfare benefits, debt, housing, consumer issues, and other issues including family and employment rights.
Contract value
The contract is being funded via two sources. The council's internal department budget will be used to fund the core contract at a value of £295,000 per annum and £1,475,000 over the maximum 5-year term.
External funding via the Crisis and Resilience Fund (which runs for 3-years, 1 April 2026 31 March 2029) will be used to supplement the core contract for the purpose of providing outreach and community-based provision with the aim of increasing accessibility. This funding totals £241,666 over the initial 3-year contract term.
Awarded to
Full CPV breakdown
- 85312300 — Guidance and counselling services (primary)
Notice details
- Buyer type
- Local authority
- Competition
- Open competition (any supplier can bid)
- Contract type
- Services
- Bids received
- 2
- Winning supplier
- Large company
- Procurement method
- Open procedure
- Main category
- Services
- Above threshold
- Yes
- Legal basis
- UKPGA 2023/54
- Notice status
- Complete
- Award status
- Pending
- Award date
- 9 Oct 2026
- Standstill period ends
- 21 Oct 2026
- Contract can be extended to
- 31 Jan 2032
- Renewal
- The contract term will be for 3 years with options to extend in increments to be agreed up to a maximum of 5 years.
- Reserved / special regime
- Light Touch
- Language
- EN
- Published
- 12 Oct 2026 14:23
- OCID
- ocds-h6vhtk-05f80a
- Notice ID
- P00005233
Competition
2
Bids received
2
Bids considered at final stage
2
SME bids at final stage
2
VCSE bids at final stage
Organisations on this notice
VIVID Housing Ltd
Procuring Entity
Peninsular House, Wharf Road, Portsmouth, PO2 8HB, United Kingdom
GB-MPR 7544
Supplier Large VCSE
Unit 2 & 3 Ark Royal House, Portsmouth, PO1 2GF, United Kingdom
GB-COH 02946921
Key dates
- Future Signature Date
- 30 Oct 2026 · Scheduled
Full notice record
70 detailsEverything the publisher included in this notice, organised by section.
Organisations
| Party 1 › Name | Portsmouth City Council |
| Party 1 › Address › Street | Civic Offices, Guildhall Square |
| Party 1 › Address › Town / city | Portsmouth |
| Party 1 › Address › Postcode | PO1 2AL |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 1 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKJ31 |
| Party 1 › Contact › Email | procurement@portsmouthcc.gov.uk |
| Party 1 › Role | buyer |
| Party 1 › Classification › Description | Public authority - sub-central government |
| Party 2 › Name | VIVID Housing Ltd |
| Party 2 › Address › Street | Peninsular House, Wharf Road |
| Party 2 › Address › Town / city | Portsmouth |
| Party 2 › Address › Postcode | PO2 8HB |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 2 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKJ31 |
| Party 2 › Contact › Email | procurement.admin@vividhomes.co.uk |
| Party 2 › Role | Procuring entity |
| Party 2 › Role Details | Tender evaluation team member |
| Party 3 › Name | CITIZENS ADVICE SOLENT EAST |
| Party 3 › Address › Street | Unit 2 & 3 Ark Royal House |
| Party 3 › Address › Town / city | Portsmouth |
| Party 3 › Address › Postcode | PO1 2GF |
| Party 3 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 3 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 3 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKJ31 |
| Party 3 › Contact › Email | contactus@casolenteast.org.uk |
| Party 3 › Role | supplier |
| Party 3 › Link | https://casolenteast.org.uk/ |
| Party 3 › Business size | large |
| Party 3 › VCSEs | Yes |
| Party 3 › Public service mission organisation | No |
| Party 3 › Sheltered workshop | No |
Buyer
| Name | Portsmouth City Council |
Tender
| Title | Portsmouth Advice Service |
| Status | complete |
| Procedure type | open |
| Procedure | Open procedure |
| Special regime | Light touch |
| Lot › Status | complete |
Awards
| Status | pending |
| Date | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Value › Value incl. VAT | £1,716,666 |
| Value › Currency | GBP |
| Category | services |
| Above threshold | Yes |
| Supplier › Name | CITIZENS ADVICE SOLENT EAST |
| Item › CPV › CPV 1 › Description | Guidance and counselling services |
| Item › CPV › CPV 2 › Description | Guidance services |
| Item › CPV › CPV 3 › Description | Welfare services not delivered through residential institutions |
| Item › Delivery › Region (NUTS) | UKJ31 |
| Item › Delivery › Country | GB |
| Item › Delivery › Country | United Kingdom |
| Standstill period › End | 21 Oct 2026 |
| Contract period › Start | 1 Feb 2027 |
| Contract period › End | 31 Jan 2030 |
| Contract period › Can be extended to | 31 Jan 2032 |
| Can be renewed | Yes |
| Renewal › Description | The contract term will be for 3 years with options to extend in increments to be agreed up to a maximum of 5 years. |
| Has options | Yes |
| Options › Description | Local Government Reorganisation has been withdrawn for Portsmouth City Council, however should new proposals be implemented in future, the total opportunity value and volume of requirements may fluctuate. This may include an increase or decrease in the scale of Advice Services to accommodate integrating merging authorities, broader corporate estates, or adjusted geographical boundaries. |
| Document › Document type | Award notice |
| Document › Description | Contract award notice on Find a Tender |
| Document › Link | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/096127-2026 |
| Document › Published | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Assessment Summaries Date Sent | 12 Oct 2026 |
| Milestone › Type | Future signature date |
| Milestone › Due | 30 Oct 2026 |
| Milestone › Status | scheduled |