Back to search
Find a Tender
TENDER
Active Services
Durham County Council - Appointment of an Independent Person to the Pension Fund
Published Today
29 Oct 2026
Deadline in 29 days
- Primary CPV
-
66520000 *
Pension services
- Location
- 🇬🇧 Durham County, North East
- Value
- £170,000
- Contract
-
3 years Duration
30/12/2026 31/12/2029
- Contract Types
-
66 *Financial & insurance servicesFull CPV Breakdown
- SME suitable
- Not stated
Publisher Address
Corten House, Dunholme Close, Durham, DH1 5WB, United Kingdom · UKC14
Contact
Award Criteria
Not specified
Related tenders
Durham County Council
All notices from this publisher Same CPV code
66520000 *
All notices with this CPV code
Reference: 004084
Durham County Council Pension Fund is seeking an experienced Independent Person. The role carries no delegated authority and does not affect statutory responsibilities. The Independent Person will provide independent expertise, scrutiny and challenge to support effective governance, oversight and decision-making.
We are looking for a highly credible pensions professional with significant experience in pension fund governance, investment, funding and administration. This can either be a sole trader or an Organisation.
Services will include review of investment, funding, governance and administration arrangements; scrutiny of advice, performance, risk, responsible investment and pooling; assurance on controls, conflicts, data, cyber resilience and continuity; attendance at Committee meetings; and support for agreed member development. Regulated investment advice is excluded.
The successful supplier will play a key role in supporting good governance, effective decision-making and regulatory compliance across one of the largest LGPS funds in England and Wales.
This is an exciting opportunity to influence strategic decision-making and contribute to the long-term success of the Fund on behalf of its Scheme members and Scheme employers.
The core service includes attendance at five meetings in each annual cycle: four Pension Fund Committee meetings and one annual meeting
Full CPV breakdown
- 66520000 — Pension services (primary)
Notice details
- Buyer type
- Local authority
- Competition
- Open competition (any supplier can bid)
- Contract type
- Services
- Procurement method
- Below threshold - open competition
- Main category
- Services
- Above threshold
- No
- Legal basis
- UKPGA 2023/54
- Notice status
- Active
- Renewal
- One extension period of 24 months subject to Council approval
- Submission method
- www.open-uk.org using OPEN-PR-28102026131816448
- Enquiries close
- 20 Nov 2026
- Language
- EN
- Published
- 29 Oct 2026 15:30
- Deadline
- 27 Nov 2026 10:00
- OCID
- ocds-h6vhtk-0793d8
- Notice ID
- 004084
Full notice record
44 detailsEverything the publisher included in this notice, organised by section.
Organisations
| Name | Durham County Council |
| Address › Street | Corten House, Dunholme Close |
| Address › Town / city | Durham |
| Address › Postcode | DH1 5WB |
| Address › Country | GB |
| Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Address › Region (NUTS) | UKC14 |
| Contact › Email | corporate.procurement@durham.gov.uk |
| Role | buyer |
| Link | http://www.durham.gov.uk/ |
| Classification › Description | Public authority - sub-central government |
Buyer
| Name | Durham County Council |
Tender
| Title | Durham County Council - Appointment of an Independent Person to the Pension Fund |
| Status | active |
| Item › CPV › Description | Pension services |
| Item › Delivery › Region (NUTS) | UKC14 |
| Item › Delivery › Country | GB |
| Item › Delivery › Country | United Kingdom |
| Value › Value incl. VAT | £204,000 |
| Value › Value | £170,000 |
| Value › Currency | GBP |
| Procedure type | open |
| Procedure | Below threshold - open competition |
| Category | services |
| Above threshold | No |
| How to submit | www.open-uk.org using OPEN-PR-28102026131816448 |
| Submission Terms › Electronic submission | allowed |
| Bidding period › End | 27 Nov 2026 |
| Questions period › End | 20 Nov 2026 |
| Lot › Status | active |
| Lot › Value › Value incl. VAT | £204,000 |
| Lot › Value › Value | £170,000 |
| Lot › Value › Currency | GBP |
| Lot › Suitable for › SMEs | Yes |
| Lot › Contract period › Start | 30 Dec 2026 |
| Lot › Contract period › End | 31 Dec 2029 |
| Lot › Contract period › Can be extended to | 31 Dec 2031 |
| Lot › Can be renewed | Yes |
| Lot › Renewal › Description | One extension period of 24 months subject to Council approval |
| Lot › Award criteria › Description | Contract Specific Essential Pass Fail Questions Technical Questions Weighting 40% Interviews 40% Pricing 20% |
| Document › Document type | Tender notice |
| Document › Description | Tender notice on Find a Tender |
| Document › Link | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/102761-2026 |
| Document › Published | 29 Oct 2026 |