Back to search
Find a Tender
AWARD
Complete
Accredited learning programmes across the policy profession
Published 23 Sep 2026
23 Sep 2026
- Primary CPV
-
80300000 *
Higher education services
- Location
- 🇬🇧 Westminster, London
- Value
- £12,436,000
- Contract
-
4.9 years Duration
05/10/2026 31/08/2031
- Contract Types
-
80 *Education & training servicesFull CPV Breakdown
- SME suitable
- Not stated
Publisher Address
Sanctuary Buildings, 20 Great Smith Street, London, SW1P3BT, United Kingdom · UKI32
Contact
Award Criteria
Not specified
Related tenders
Department for Education
All notices from this publisher Same CPV code
80300000 *
All notices with this CPV code
Reference: Project_10154
The Civil Service Policy Profession consists of approximately 38,500 civil servants, making it the second largest profession in government. It has a presence across the regions and nations of the UK. The work of policy professionals has a significant impact on the lives of people across the country. Investing in the development of policy makers supports the creation of stronger policies and improved outcomes for the public.
The Policy Profession Unit, part of the Department for Education and operating on behalf of policy professionals across government, is responsible for overseeing the development of the Policy Profession. This includes building the skills and capability of policy professionals at different stages of their careers.
Following a competitive procurement process, the Department for Education has awarded contracts for the development and delivery of accredited postgraduate learning programmes designed to build the skills and capabilities of UK civil servants in line with the Policy Profession Standards. The programmes will be available from September 2027 and will support policy professionals across government departments.
The procurement was divided into two lots:
Lot 1 (itt_3995):
A contract for the delivery of five cohorts of an accredited 180-credit Master's programme, with one cohort delivered per academic year from Academic Year 2027/28. The programme is designed for experienced civil service policy leaders and will strengthen advanced policy capability, enabling participants to apply academic rigour and best practice to complex government policy challenges while continuing in their roles.
Lot 2 (itt_3999):
A contract for the delivery of a postgraduate accredited learning offer for civil service policy professionals, including standalone modules and qualifications at Postgraduate Award, Certificate and Diploma level for experienced practitioners. The contract also includes a separate 30-credit Postgraduate Award for Government Policy Fast Streamers, delivered annually through a structured three-year programme.
The Department for Education will hold the contracts on behalf of the Civil Service Policy Profession; however, the programmes will be accessible to participants from all UK Government departments.
The estimated values published are based on historic student volumes and expenditure. Actual contract expenditure will be determined by future learner numbers and departmental demand over the contract term. The Department for Education does not guarantee any minimum level of spend under the contracts and reserves the right to vary volumes in accordance with operational requirements.
Awarded to
Full CPV breakdown
- 80300000 — Higher education services (primary)
Notice details
- Buyer type
- Central government
- Competition
- Open competition (any supplier can bid)
- Contract type
- Services
- Bids received
- 7
- Winning supplier
- Large company
- Lots
- 2
- Procurement method
- Open procedure
- Main category
- Services
- Above threshold
- Yes
- Legal basis
- UKPGA 2023/54
- Notice status
- Complete
- Award status
- Active
- Award date
- 23 Sep 2026
- Contract can be extended to
- 31 Aug 2035
- Renewal
- A single extension clause to cover additional cohorts of learners.
- Number of lots
- 2
- Language
- EN
- Published
- 23 Sep 2026 14:41
- OCID
- ocds-h6vhtk-059e28
- Notice ID
- Project_10154
Competition
7
Bids received
7
Bids considered at final stage
0
SME bids at final stage
0
VCSE bids at final stage
Organisations on this notice
THE UNIVERSITY OF MANCHESTER
Supplier, Tenderer Large
The University of Manchester Oxford Road, Manchester, M13 9PL, United Kingdom
co•••••
Upgrade to Pro to see
GB-COH RC000797
Supplier, Tenderer Large
King's College London, Strand, London, WC2R 2LS, United Kingdom
po•••••
Upgrade to Pro to see
GB-COH RC000297
London School of Economics
Tenderer Large
Lse, Houghton Street, London, WC2A 2AE, United Kingdom
GB-COH 00070527
Tenderer Large
Edgbaston, Birmingham, B15 2TT, United Kingdom
GB-COH RC000645
Tenderer Large
Mile End Road, London, E1 4NS, United Kingdom
GB-COH RC000710
UNIVERSITY OF YORK
Tenderer Large
University of York, York, YO10 5DD, United Kingdom
GB-UKPRN 10007167
Lots (2)
Lot 1
· Complete
Lot 2
· Complete
Key dates
- Future Signature Date
- 5 Oct 2026 · Scheduled
- Future Signature Date
- 5 Oct 2026 · Scheduled
Full notice record
133 detailsEverything the publisher included in this notice, organised by section. Contact details hidden: upgrade to Pro to see
Organisations
| Party 1 › Name | Department for Education |
| Party 1 › Address › Street | Sanctuary Buildings, 20 Great Smith Street |
| Party 1 › Address › Town / city | London |
| Party 1 › Address › Postcode | SW1P3BT |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 1 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKI32 |
| Party 1 › Role | buyer |
| Party 1 › Classification › Description | Public authority - central government |
| Party 2 › Name | THE UNIVERSITY OF MANCHESTER |
| Party 2 › Address › Street | The University of Manchester Oxford Road |
| Party 2 › Address › Town / city | Manchester |
| Party 2 › Address › Postcode | M13 9PL |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 2 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKD33 |
| Party 2 › Role › Role 1 | supplier |
| Party 2 › Role › Role 2 | tenderer |
| Party 2 › Link | https://www.manchester.ac.uk/ |
| Party 2 › Business size | large |
| Party 2 › VCSEs | No |
| Party 2 › Public service mission organisation | No |
| Party 2 › Sheltered workshop | No |
| Party 3 › Name | Kings College London |
| Party 3 › Address › Street | King's College London, Strand |
| Party 3 › Address › Town / city | London |
| Party 3 › Address › Postcode | WC2R 2LS |
| Party 3 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 3 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 3 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKI32 |
| Party 3 › Role › Role 1 | supplier |
| Party 3 › Role › Role 2 | tenderer |
| Party 3 › Link | https://www.kcl.ac.uk/ |
| Party 3 › Business size | large |
| Party 3 › VCSEs | No |
| Party 3 › Public service mission organisation | No |
| Party 3 › Sheltered workshop | No |
| Party 4 › Name | London School of Economics |
| Party 4 › Address › Street | Lse, Houghton Street |
| Party 4 › Address › Town / city | London |
| Party 4 › Address › Postcode | WC2A 2AE |
| Party 4 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 4 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 4 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKI32 |
| Party 4 › Role | tenderer |
| Party 4 › Business size | large |
| Party 4 › VCSEs | No |
| Party 5 › Name | THE UNIVERSITY OF BIRMINGHAM |
| Party 5 › Address › Street | Edgbaston |
| Party 5 › Address › Town / city | Birmingham |
| Party 5 › Address › Postcode | B15 2TT |
| Party 5 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 5 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 5 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKG31 |
| Party 5 › Role | tenderer |
| Party 5 › Business size | large |
| Party 5 › VCSEs | No |
| Party 6 › Name | Queen Mary University of London |
| Party 6 › Address › Street | Mile End Road |
| Party 6 › Address › Town / city | London |
| Party 6 › Address › Postcode | E1 4NS |
| Party 6 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 6 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 6 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKI42 |
| Party 6 › Role | tenderer |
| Party 6 › Business size | large |
| Party 6 › VCSEs | No |
| Party 7 › Name | UNIVERSITY OF YORK |
| Party 7 › Address › Street | University of York |
| Party 7 › Address › Town / city | York |
| Party 7 › Address › Postcode | YO10 5DD |
| Party 7 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 7 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 7 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKE21 |
| Party 7 › Role | tenderer |
| Party 7 › Business size | large |
| Party 7 › VCSEs | No |
Buyer
| Name | Department for Education |
Tender
| Title | Accredited learning programmes across the policy profession |
| Status | complete |
| Procedure type | open |
| Procedure | Open procedure |
| Lot › Lot 1 › Status | complete |
| Lot › Lot 2 › Status | complete |
Awards
| Award 1 › Title | Accredited learning programmes across the policy profession Lot 1 |
| Award 1 › Status | active |
| Award 1 › Date | 23 Sep 2026 |
| Award 1 › Value › Value incl. VAT | £6,409,780 |
| Award 1 › Value › Value | £6,409,780 |
| Award 1 › Value › Currency | GBP |
| Award 1 › Category | services |
| Award 1 › Above threshold | Yes |
| Award 1 › Supplier › Name | THE UNIVERSITY OF MANCHESTER |
| Award 1 › Item › CPV › Description | Higher education services |
| Award 1 › Item › Delivery › Region (NUTS) | UK |
| Award 1 › Item › Delivery › Country | GB |
| Award 1 › Item › Delivery › Country | United Kingdom |
| Award 1 › Contract period › Start | 5 Oct 2026 |
| Award 1 › Contract period › End | 31 Aug 2031 |
| Award 1 › Contract period › Can be extended to | 31 Aug 2035 |
| Award 1 › Can be renewed | Yes |
| Award 1 › Renewal › Description | A single extension clause to cover additional cohorts of learners. |
| Award 1 › Document › Document type | Award notice |
| Award 1 › Document › Description | Contract award notice on Find a Tender |
| Award 1 › Document › Link | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/090195-2026 |
| Award 1 › Document › Published | 23 Sep 2026 |
| Award 1 › Assessment Summaries Date Sent | 23 Sep 2026 |
| Award 1 › Milestone › Type | Future signature date |
| Award 1 › Milestone › Due | 5 Oct 2026 |
| Award 1 › Milestone › Status | scheduled |
| Award 2 › Title | Accredited learning programmes across the policy profession Lot 2 |
| Award 2 › Status | active |
| Award 2 › Date | 23 Sep 2026 |
| Award 2 › Value › Value incl. VAT | £12,436,000 |
| Award 2 › Value › Value | £12,436,000 |
| Award 2 › Value › Currency | GBP |
| Award 2 › Category | services |
| Award 2 › Above threshold | Yes |
| Award 2 › Supplier › Name | Kings College London |
| Award 2 › Item › CPV › Description | Higher education services |
| Award 2 › Contract period › Start | 5 Oct 2026 |
| Award 2 › Contract period › End | 31 Aug 2032 |
| Award 2 › Contract period › Can be extended to | 31 Aug 2035 |
| Award 2 › Can be renewed | Yes |
| Award 2 › Renewal › Description | A single extension clause to cover additional cohorts of learners. |
| Award 2 › Document › Document type | Award notice |
| Award 2 › Document › Description | Contract award notice on Find a Tender |
| Award 2 › Document › Link | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/090195-2026 |
| Award 2 › Document › Published | 23 Sep 2026 |
| Award 2 › Assessment Summaries Date Sent | 23 Sep 2026 |
| Award 2 › Milestone › Type | Future signature date |
| Award 2 › Milestone › Due | 5 Oct 2026 |
| Award 2 › Milestone › Status | scheduled |