Back to search
Find a Tender
AWARD
Complete
2025-061 Technical Auditing for Engineering
Published 30 Sep 2026
30 Sep 2026
- Primary CPV
-
65000000 *
Public utilities
- Location
- 🇬🇧 Tower Hamlets, London
- Value
- £3,333,333
- Contract
-
2 years Duration
19/10/2026 18/10/2028
- Contract Types
-
65 *Public utilitiesFull CPV Breakdown
- SME suitable
- Not stated
Publisher Address
10 South Colonnade, London, E14 4PU, United Kingdom · UKI42
Contact
Alfie Ellis
Award Criteria
Not specified
Related tenders
Ofgem
All notices from this publisher Same CPV code
65000000 *
All notices with this CPV code
Reference: 2025-061
This procurement is for auditors to be employed by Ofgem, to carry out asset management audits and engineering asset assurance inspections at gas and electricity sites.
Ofgem requires a supplier to assess, inspect and investigate the asset management systems and equipment of licensees with a view to providing assurance that suitable governance is in place and equipment is being maintained in accordance with the relevant standards in practice.
In order to do so, the suppliers may be required, but not limited to the following pieces of work:
Item 1
The suppliers would provide their expert view on the following:
Whether the Licensee’s asset management policies and procedures are fit for purpose and consistent with international best practice. Additionally, the supplier would provide an assessment of asset management maturity within the organisation.
Whether licensees are following these policies and procedures correctly, in terms of the monitoring, maintenance and repair/replacement of their assets and whether the staff responsible for completing these procedures are appropriately trained.
Whether licensees are accurately recording these activities, including into Network Asset Risk Metrics (NARMs)/other metrics, and making appropriate/timely interventions where issues are identified through such measures and otherwise.
Item 2
The Inspectors provided by the suppliers will be employed to carry out engineering asset assurance surveys and Inspections at onshore gas and electricity sites.
The scope of services, as further detailed in Annex A technical specification, would include (but is not limited to) the following:
To inspect key electricity assets and systems including: transformers, reactors, circuit breakers, protection & control equipment, auxiliary systems, high voltage connections, cabling, busbars and buscouplers, disconnectors, earth switches, civil structures, fire suppression equipment, batteries, overhead lines (including towers and poles) and cables (including fluid filled systems, cooling and monitoring equipment).
To inspect key gas assets and systems including: gas terminals, local distribution zone offtakes, above ground installations, pipeline safety and maintenance records, compressor stations, protection and control equipment, metering installations, odorant injection facilities, storage facilities, pressure control installations, auxiliary systems, civil structures, associated electrical and communication & instrumentation installations, gas monitoring and fire suppression equipment, pre-heating and cooling installations.
For above assets that are within scope of the audit, review of maintenance schedules and plans and historic maintenance records, defects and repairs; also audit of technical and performance data submitted to Ofgem.
The supplier’s inspectors will be asked to give a view as part of submitted reports and or presentations to Ofgem, on the adequacy of the maintenance regime, maintenance performance and forward plans for the assets based on their findings from the site visits and review of maintenance schedules and maintenance records. The supplier’s inspectors will also need to make recommendations on improvements to maintenance plans and performance where they identify gaps and shortcomings based on their findings from the audit, their knowledge of best practice and experience of working with other operators of similar equipment.
Item 3
The supplier’s inspectors may also be asked to investigate the circumstances of electricity or gas network incidents or issues and provide a technical report to Ofgem setting out the root cause with conclusions about the wider circumstances and recommendations to ensure compliance with the relevant standards and policies. This work would involve:
Inspecting the relevant plant and equipment
Researching the circumstances of the incident or issue by reviewing data and other information
Writing a report on findings and presenting it to Ofgem.
For each inspection, Ofgem will require the suppliers to:
A report on the findings from a process and procedures audit on each licensee.
Item 1.
A report detailing the findings of each site audit carried out.
Item 2.
A report detailing the facts and conclusions of a network incident.
Item 3.
A presentation to Ofgem setting out the findings from each audit / inspection / investigation.
Awarded to
Full CPV breakdown
- 65000000 — Public utilities (primary)
Notice details
- Buyer type
- Local authority
- Competition
- Open competition (any supplier can bid)
- Contract type
- Services
- Bids received
- 2
- Winning supplier
- Large company
- Procurement method
- Open procedure
- Main category
- Services
- Above threshold
- Yes
- Legal basis
- UKPGA 2023/54
- Notice status
- Complete
- Award status
- Pending
- Award date
- 29 Sep 2026
- Standstill period ends
- 9 Oct 2026
- Contract can be extended to
- 18 Oct 2030
- Renewal
- The option to extend for up to 2 x 12-month periods until 18th October 2030
- Language
- EN
- Published
- 30 Sep 2026 09:28
- OCID
- ocds-h6vhtk-0599da
- Notice ID
- 2025-061
Competition
2
Bids received
2
Bids considered at final stage
0
SME bids at final stage
0
VCSE bids at final stage
Organisations on this notice
AtkinsRéalis UK Limited
Supplier Large
Woodcote Grove, Ashley Road, Epsom, Surrey, KT18 5BW, United Kingdom
GB-PPON PLLV-1772-YDYN
Supplier Large
Italy, Genoa, CAP 16129, via Cecchi n. 6, Genoa, 16129, Italy
GB-PPON PJVG-6827-QDXV
Key dates
- Future Signature Date
- 9 Oct 2026 · Scheduled
Full notice record
76 detailsEverything the publisher included in this notice, organised by section.
Organisations
| Party 1 › Name | Ofgem |
| Party 1 › Address › Street | 10 South Colonnade |
| Party 1 › Address › Town / city | London |
| Party 1 › Address › Postcode | E14 4PU |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 1 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKI42 |
| Party 1 › Contact › Name | Alfie Ellis |
| Party 1 › Contact › Email | alfie.ellis@ofgem.gov.uk |
| Party 1 › Role | buyer |
| Party 1 › Link | http://www.ofgem.gov.uk |
| Party 1 › Classification › Description | Public authority - sub-central government |
| Party 2 › Name | AtkinsRéalis UK Limited |
| Party 2 › Address › Street | Woodcote Grove, Ashley Road |
| Party 2 › Address › Town / city | Epsom, Surrey |
| Party 2 › Address › Postcode | KT18 5BW |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 2 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKJ26 |
| Party 2 › Contact › Email | andrew.mandle@atkinsrealis.com |
| Party 2 › Role | supplier |
| Party 2 › Business size | large |
| Party 2 › VCSEs | No |
| Party 2 › Public service mission organisation | No |
| Party 2 › Sheltered workshop | No |
| Party 3 › Name | RINA Consulting S.p.A. |
| Party 3 › Address › Street | Italy, Genoa, CAP 16129, via Cecchi n. 6 |
| Party 3 › Address › Town / city | Genoa |
| Party 3 › Address › Postcode | 16129 |
| Party 3 › Address › Country | IT |
| Party 3 › Address › Country | Italy |
| Party 3 › Address › Region (NUTS) | IT |
| Party 3 › Contact › Email | Jonathan.Avery@rina.org |
| Party 3 › Role | supplier |
| Party 3 › Business size | large |
| Party 3 › VCSEs | No |
| Party 3 › Public service mission organisation | No |
| Party 3 › Sheltered workshop | No |
Buyer
| Name | Ofgem |
Tender
| Title | 2025-061 Technical Auditing for Engineering |
| Status | complete |
| Procedure type | open |
| Procedure | Open procedure |
| Lot › Status | complete |
Awards
| Title | 2025-061 Technical Auditing for Engineering |
| Status | pending |
| Date | 29 Sep 2026 |
| Value › Value incl. VAT | £4,000,000 |
| Value › Value | £3,333,333.33 |
| Value › Currency | GBP |
| Category | services |
| Above threshold | Yes |
| Supplier › Supplier 1 › Name | AtkinsRéalis UK Limited |
| Supplier › Supplier 2 › Name | RINA Consulting S.p.A. |
| Item › CPV › CPV 1 › Description | Public utilities |
| Item › CPV › CPV 2 › Description | Services related to the oil and gas industry |
| Item › CPV › CPV 3 › Description | Auditing services |
| Item › CPV › CPV 4 › Description | Environmental services |
| Item › CPV › CPV 5 › Description | Fuels |
| Item › Delivery › Region (NUTS) | UK |
| Item › Delivery › Country | GB |
| Item › Delivery › Country | United Kingdom |
| Standstill period › End | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Contract period › Start | 19 Oct 2026 |
| Contract period › End | 18 Oct 2028 |
| Contract period › Can be extended to | 18 Oct 2030 |
| Can be renewed | Yes |
| Renewal › Description | The option to extend for up to 2 x 12-month periods until 18th October 2030 |
| Document › Document type | Award notice |
| Document › Description | Contract award notice on Find a Tender |
| Document › Link | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/092144-2026 |
| Document › Published | 30 Sep 2026 |
| Assessment Summaries Date Sent | 29 Sep 2026 |
| Milestone › Type | Future signature date |
| Milestone › Due | 9 Oct 2026 |
| Milestone › Status | scheduled |