Back to search
Find a Tender
AWARD
Complete
TC14L2 - Responsive Electrical Repairs and Maintenance Services for Public Buildings within the City of Southend-on-Sea
Published Today
4 Nov 2026
- Primary CPV
-
45310000 *
Electrical installation work
- Location
- 🇬🇧 Southend-on-Sea, East of England
- Value
- £499,841
- Contract
-
3 years Duration
01/12/2026 30/11/2029
- Contract Types
-
45 *Construction workFull CPV Breakdown
- SME suitable
- Not stated
Publisher Address
Civic Centre, Victoria Avenue, Southend On Sea, Essex, Southend-on-Sea, SS2 6FA, United Kingdom · UKH31
Contact
Award Criteria
Not specified
Related tenders
Southend-on-Sea City Council
All notices from this publisher Same CPV code
45310000 *
All notices with this CPV code
Reference: DN816844
Southend on Sea City Council is seeking to engage an experienced and qualified contractor to fulfil the provision of responsive and quoted works for electrical installations to a portfolio of Public Buildings, Schools and leased Buildings within the city of Southend on Sea. The contract will include providing a responsive service including 2-hour attendance to some buildings to faults reported through the Southend-on-Sea City Council repairs help desk. Quoted remedial and upgrade works up to the value of £5,000.00 will be delivered via this contract.
All potential contractors must be registered with a recognised competent person scheme such as NICEIC, NAPIT or equivalent.
The duration of the contract is for 3 years with the option to extend for up to an additional 2 years. The contract will be let under the JCT Measured Term Contract 2024 Edition.
Please Note: This government's English Devolution White Paper, Power and Partnership: Foundations for Growth published on 16 December 2024, states that the government wants all remaining two tier areas in England to be eventually restructured into single-tier unitary authorities and is termed Local Government Reorganisation (LGR). This reorganisation is part of a broader devolution strategy to simplify local government structures, save public funds and improve local accountability. LGR will impact the County of Essex as it currently operates a two-tier Local Government structure.
It is anticipated that during the life of this contract/ framework, the LGR process will commence and/or progress potentially impacting this contract. Impacts may include, but not limited to, modifications such as a transfer of the legal entity you currently contract with, significant increases and/ or decreases in the value/ volume of services required due to the change in size / scope of the Contracting Authority and/or changes to the scope of the nature of services required. Although any contract scope changes should broadly relate to the nature of the existing scope, new services of a related nature may be required that were not previously included.
The scale and exact timing of the changes are unknown at this point, but it is known that LGR will impact the County of Essex. All suppliers who work with the Authority need to be aware and where possible, work with the Authority to adapt to any changes/ modifications as required to ensure smooth transition and continuity.
Full CPV breakdown
- 45310000 — Electrical installation work (primary)
Notice details
- Buyer type
- Local authority
- Competition
- Open competition (any supplier can bid)
- Contract type
- Services
- Bids received
- 27
- Winning supplier
- SME
- Procurement method
- Open procedure
- Main category
- Services
- Above threshold
- Yes
- Legal basis
- UKPGA 2023/54
- Notice status
- Complete
- Award status
- Pending
- Award date
- 30 Oct 2026
- Standstill period ends
- 13 Nov 2026
- Contract can be extended to
- 30 Nov 2031
- Renewal
- The contract may be extended beyond the initial term on a maximum of 2 (two) occasions, for a period up to 1 (one) year on each occasion (each a 'Renewal Period') at the Council's sole discretion, by the Council giving the successful supplier not less than 3 (three) months' notice prior to the expiry of the initial term or the renewal period (as applicable)
- Language
- EN
- Published
- 04 Nov 2026 13:09
- OCID
- ocds-h6vhtk-06b783
- Notice ID
- DN816844
Competition
27
Bids received
27
Bids considered at final stage
27
SME bids at final stage
0
VCSE bids at final stage
Organisations on this notice
Supplier SME
Malvern House, 63a Navigation Road, Chelmsford, CM2 6ND, United Kingdom
ja•••••
Upgrade to Pro to see
GB-COH 02786415
Key dates
- Future Signature Date
- 26 Nov 2026 · Scheduled
Full notice record
58 detailsEverything the publisher included in this notice, organised by section. Contact details hidden: upgrade to Pro to see
Organisations
| Party 1 › Name | Southend-on-Sea City Council |
| Party 1 › Address › Street | Civic Centre, Victoria Avenue, Southend On Sea, Essex |
| Party 1 › Address › Town / city | Southend-on-Sea |
| Party 1 › Address › Postcode | SS2 6FA |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 1 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKH31 |
| Party 1 › Role | buyer |
| Party 1 › Classification › Description | Public authority - sub-central government |
| Party 2 › Name | HOUGHTON & SON LIMITED |
| Party 2 › Address › Street | Malvern House, 63a Navigation Road |
| Party 2 › Address › Town / city | Chelmsford |
| Party 2 › Address › Postcode | CM2 6ND |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 2 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKH36 |
| Party 2 › Role | supplier |
| Party 2 › Link | http://www.houghton.group/ |
| Party 2 › Business size | sme |
| Party 2 › VCSEs | No |
| Party 2 › Public service mission organisation | No |
| Party 2 › Sheltered workshop | No |
Buyer
| Name | Southend-on-Sea City Council |
Tender
| Title | TC14L2 - Responsive Electrical Repairs and Maintenance Services for Public Buildings within the City of Southend-on-Sea |
| Status | complete |
| Procedure type | open |
| Procedure | Open procedure |
| Lot › Status | complete |
Awards
| Title | TC14L2 - Responsive Electrical Repairs and Maintenance Services for Public Buildings within the City of Southend- on-Sea |
| Status | pending |
| Date | 30 Oct 2026 |
| Value › Value incl. VAT | £599,808.95 |
| Value › Value | £499,840.79 |
| Value › Currency | GBP |
| Category | services |
| Above threshold | Yes |
| Supplier › Name | HOUGHTON & SON LIMITED |
| Item › CPV › CPV 1 › Description | Electrical installation work |
| Item › CPV › CPV 2 › Description | Repair and maintenance services of electrical building installations |
| Item › Delivery › Region (NUTS) | UKH31 |
| Item › Delivery › Country | GB |
| Item › Delivery › Country | United Kingdom |
| Standstill period › End | 13 Nov 2026 |
| Contract period › Start | 1 Dec 2026 |
| Contract period › End | 30 Nov 2029 |
| Contract period › Can be extended to | 30 Nov 2031 |
| Can be renewed | Yes |
| Renewal › Description | The contract may be extended beyond the initial term on a maximum of 2 (two) occasions, for a period up to 1 (one) year on each occasion (each a 'Renewal Period') at the Council's sole discretion, by the Council giving the successful supplier not less than 3 (three) months' notice prior to the expiry of the initial term or the renewal period (as applicable) |
| Has options | Yes |
| Options › Description | At the request of the Council the addition / omission of sites, replacement equipment all in accordance with the JCT MTC 2024 Edition and Schedule of Rates. |
| Document › Document type | Award notice |
| Document › Description | Contract award notice on Find a Tender |
| Document › Link | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/104660-2026 |
| Document › Published | 4 Nov 2026 |
| Assessment Summaries Date Sent | 4 Nov 2026 |
| Milestone › Type | Future signature date |
| Milestone › Due | 26 Nov 2026 |
| Milestone › Status | scheduled |