Back to search
Find a Tender
AWARD
Complete
Future High Potential Initial Teacher Training (HPITT) Programme
Published 29 May 2026
29 May 2026
- Primary CPV
-
80530000 *
Vocational training services
- Location
- 🇬🇧 Westminster, London
- Value
- £89,000,000
- Contract
-
5.4 years Duration
12/06/2026 31/10/2031
- Contract Types
-
80 *Education & training servicesFull CPV Breakdown
- SME suitable
- Not stated
Publisher Address
Sanctuary Buildings, 20 Great Smith Street, London, SW1P3BT, United Kingdom · UKI32
Contact
Award Criteria
Not specified
Related tenders
Department for Education
All notices from this publisher Same CPV code
80530000 *
All notices with this CPV code
Reference: ITT_3787
The Department for Education (DfE) launched a procurement for the recruitment and training of teachers to support schools serving disadvantaged communities (referred to as the programme).
The procurement was conducted under the Light Touch Regime using a Competitive Flexible Procedure, in accordance with the Procurement Act 2023 following prior market engagement to inform the procurement strategy, programme scope, and delivery model.
DfE sought a supplier capable of delivering a national, creative and impactful solution tailored to the needs of disadvantaged schools. We intend to award a single national contract with a supplier who shall hold sole accountability for delivery of the full programme scope, including school engagement, participant attraction, programme delivery, and participant support.
The indicative total contract value is £89 million, with an initial value of £53,658,000 covering three cohorts commencing in September 2027, 2028 and 2029. Provision is included to extend the contract to support up to two further cohorts starting in 2030 and 2031.
The existing High Potential Initial Teacher Training contract concludes following completion of the 2026 cohort. This new contract ensures continuity of DfE support to recruit and train high quality participants to teach in schools serving disadvantaged communities.
Programme Overview
The programme supports the Government’s ambition to enable every pupil to achieve and thrive through high quality teaching, which is the most significant in school factor influencing pupil outcomes.
It is designed to help schools serving low income communities with high numbers of disadvantaged and low attaining pupils (Eligible Schools) to recruit the teachers they need to improve outcomes. The programme is intended to be a distinct and prestigious route into teaching, competing with other high profile graduate recruitment programmes.
The supplier will design, develop and deliver a national, two year, employment based Initial Teacher Training and leadership development programme, with a strong focus on meeting local recruitment needs and achieving strong levels of participant completion and retention.
Aims and Requirements
The core aims of the programme are to:
• Support Eligible Schools in England to recruit the teachers required to improve pupil outcomes;
• Attract high quality candidates with a 2:1 degree or above who would otherwise be unlikely to enter teaching or work in disadvantaged schools, and who demonstrate the potential to become excellent teachers and emerging leaders;
• Contribute to recruitment in specified priority subjects while retaining flexibility to respond to local school needs.
The programme also supports longer term teacher retention by preparing participants for career progression in teaching and school leadership.
The supplier is required to:
• Build and maintain strong partnerships with schools and local partners in areas with the greatest recruitment challenges;
• Attract, recruit and select specified numbers of high quality participants (1,000 participants commencing each cohort);
• Deliver a high quality, two-year employment based Initial Teacher Training programme, in conjunction with accredited providers where appropriate, compliant with the Initial Teacher Training and Early Career Framework;
• Deliver an integrated leadership development offer;
• Maximise completion rates and support participants into teaching roles beyond the programme;
• Facilitate participant networks to support career progression and retention.
Additional Information
The programme will recruit three initial cohorts for the 2027/28, 2028/29 and 2029/30 academic years, with recruitment taking place in the preceding academic year. The first cohort is expected to commence training in September 2027, with recruitment beginning by October 2026.
The recruitment target for each cohort is 1,000 participants and will form a key performance indicator (KPI). Additional KPIs will measure achievement of Qualified Teacher Status, programme completion, subject specific outcomes, and delivery of Social Value commitments.
The successful supplier may use its own brand alongside the programme identity developed by the Department. Further details on the new programme identity will be published in due course.
Awarded to
Full CPV breakdown
- 80530000 — Vocational training services (primary)
Notice details
- Buyer type
- Central government
- Competition
- Open competition (any supplier can bid)
- Contract type
- Services
- Bids received
- 3
- Winning supplier
- Large company
- Procurement method
- Competitive flexible procedure
- Main category
- Services
- Above threshold
- Yes
- Legal basis
- UKPGA 2023/54
- Notice status
- Complete
- Award status
- Pending
- Award date
- 19 May 2026
- Standstill period ends
- 9 Jun 2026
- Contract can be extended to
- 31 Oct 2033
- Renewal
- Provision is included to extend the Contract to support up to two additional training cohorts commencing in 2030 and 2031. The extension may be exercised either as a single modification covering both cohorts or as two separate extensions, each covering one cohort.
- Reserved / special regime
- Light Touch
- Language
- EN
- Published
- 29 May 2026 10:22
- OCID
- ocds-h6vhtk-04f6ee
- Notice ID
- ITT_3787
Competition
3
Bids received
3
Bids considered at final stage
0
SME bids at final stage
1
VCSE bids at final stage
Organisations on this notice
Supplier, Tenderer Large VCSE
6 Mitre Passage, London, SE10 0ER, United Kingdom
co•••••
Upgrade to Pro to see
GB-PPON PHDX-7117-CWWM
Tenderer Large
Priory Street, Coventry, CV1 5FB, United Kingdom
GB-PPON PMMH-2339-NMGH
Serco Limited
Tenderer Large
16 Bartley Wood Business Park, Hook, RG27 9UY, United Kingdom
GB-PPON PMNV-5613-PQMY
Key dates
- Future Signature Date
- 12 Jun 2026 · Scheduled
Full notice record
78 detailsEverything the publisher included in this notice, organised by section. Contact details hidden: upgrade to Pro to see
Organisations
| Party 1 › Name | Department for Education |
| Party 1 › Address › Street | Sanctuary Buildings, 20 Great Smith Street |
| Party 1 › Address › Town / city | London |
| Party 1 › Address › Postcode | SW1P3BT |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 1 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKI32 |
| Party 1 › Role | buyer |
| Party 1 › Link | https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/department-for-education |
| Party 1 › Classification › Description | Public authority - central government |
| Party 2 › Name | Teach First |
| Party 2 › Address › Street | 6 Mitre Passage |
| Party 2 › Address › Town / city | London |
| Party 2 › Address › Postcode | SE10 0ER |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 2 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKI51 |
| Party 2 › Role › Role 1 | supplier |
| Party 2 › Role › Role 2 | tenderer |
| Party 2 › Link | http://www.teachfirst.org.uk |
| Party 2 › Business size | large |
| Party 2 › VCSEs | Yes |
| Party 2 › Public service mission organisation | No |
| Party 2 › Sheltered workshop | No |
| Party 3 › Name | Coventry University |
| Party 3 › Address › Street | Priory Street |
| Party 3 › Address › Town / city | Coventry |
| Party 3 › Address › Postcode | CV1 5FB |
| Party 3 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 3 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 3 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKG33 |
| Party 3 › Role | tenderer |
| Party 3 › Business size | large |
| Party 3 › VCSEs | No |
| Party 4 › Name | Serco Limited |
| Party 4 › Address › Street | 16 Bartley Wood Business Park |
| Party 4 › Address › Town / city | Hook |
| Party 4 › Address › Postcode | RG27 9UY |
| Party 4 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 4 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 4 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKJ37 |
| Party 4 › Role | tenderer |
| Party 4 › Business size | large |
| Party 4 › VCSEs | No |
Buyer
| Name | Department for Education |
Tender
| Title | Future High Potential Initial Teacher Training (HPITT) Programme |
| Status | complete |
| Procedure type | open |
| Procedure | Competitive flexible procedure |
| Special regime | Light touch |
| Lot › Status | complete |
Awards
| Title | Future High Potential Initial Teacher Training Programme 2027 - 2029 cohorts |
| Status | pending |
| Date | 19 May 2026 |
| Value › Value incl. VAT | £106,800,000 |
| Value › Value | £89,000,000 |
| Value › Currency | GBP |
| Category | services |
| Above threshold | Yes |
| Supplier › Name | Teach First |
| Item › CPV › Description | Vocational training services |
| Item › Delivery › Region (NUTS) | UK |
| Item › Delivery › Country | GB |
| Item › Delivery › Country | United Kingdom |
| Standstill period › End | 9 Jun 2026 |
| Contract period › Start | 12 Jun 2026 |
| Contract period › End | 31 Oct 2031 |
| Contract period › Can be extended to | 31 Oct 2033 |
| Can be renewed | Yes |
| Renewal › Description | Provision is included to extend the Contract to support up to two additional training cohorts commencing in 2030 and 2031. The extension may be exercised either as a single modification covering both cohorts or as two separate extensions, each covering one cohort. |
| Document › Document type | Award notice |
| Document › Description | Contract award notice on Find a Tender |
| Document › Link | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/050655-2026 |
| Document › Published | 29 May 2026 |
| Assessment Summaries Date Sent | 19 May 2026 |
| Milestone › Type | Future signature date |
| Milestone › Due | 12 Jun 2026 |
| Milestone › Status | scheduled |