Back to search
Find a Tender
AWARD
Complete
MAXPREP AGREEMENT
Published 27 Jan 2026
27 Jan 2026
- Primary CPV
-
50410000 *
Repair and maintenance services of measuring, testing and checking apparatus
- Location
- 🇬🇧 Cardiff and Vale of Glamorgan, Wales
- Value
- £31,549
- Contract
-
3 years Duration
28/06/2026 27/06/2029
- Contract Types
-
50 *Repair & maintenance servicesFull CPV Breakdown
- SME suitable
- Not stated
Publisher Address
Woodland House Road, Maes Y Coed Road , Cardiff, CF14 4HH, United Kingdom · UKL22
Contact
Award Criteria
Not specified
Related tenders
Cardiff and Vale University Health Board
All notices from this publisher Same CPV code
50410000 *
All notices with this CPV code
Reference: CAV-DIR (25-28) 188
The requirement relates to the ongoing maintenance and support of the Promega Maxprep Liquid Handling System, a critical piece of laboratory automation equipment used by AWMGS for DNA extraction workflows. This system supports high-throughput processing and ensures compliance with UKAS accreditation standards for laboratory operations.
The Maxprep system is integral to genetic testing processes, enabling automated pre-processing and post-processing steps for DNA extraction using Maxwell RSC AS1400 DNA Blood kits. Without this equipment functioning optimally, there is a significant risk of disruption to essential diagnostic services.
To maintain operational reliability and compliance, the instrument requires:
• Annual preventive maintenance and six-monthly checks by qualified engineers.
• Technical support for troubleshooting and repairs.
• Replacement of defective parts as covered under the service agreement.
Promega UK Ltd is the sole supplier of the Maxprep system and its associated maintenance services. The proprietary nature of the equipment means no other provider can deliver the required support without breaching intellectual property rights or voiding warranties. Market research confirms that there are no alternative suppliers for this service.
The proposed procurement will secure a multi-year service agreement to ensure continuity of service, reduce risk of downtime, and maintain compliance with regulatory standards. This approach will also provide cost certainty and operational stability for the duration of the contract.
Awarded to
Full CPV breakdown
- 50410000 — Repair and maintenance services of measuring, testing and checking apparatus (primary)
Notice details
- Buyer type
- Local authority
- Competition
- Direct award (no competition)
- Contract type
- Services
- Winning supplier
- Large company
- Procurement method
- Below threshold - without competition
- Main category
- Services
- Above threshold
- No
- Legal basis
- UKPGA 2023/54
- Notice status
- Complete
- Award status
- Pending
- Language
- EN
- Published
- 27 Jan 2026 13:55
- OCID
- ocds-h6vhtk-060fb9
- Notice ID
- CAV-DIR (25-28) 188
Organisations on this notice
NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership (hosted by Velindre University NHS Trust)
Procuring Entity
4-5 Charnwood Court Heol Billingsley, Cardiff, CF15 7QZ, United Kingdom
Co•••••
Upgrade to Pro to see
GB-PPON PXWV-6492-CGMN
Promega UK LTD
Supplier Large
2 Benham Court, Hampshire, SO16 7QJ, United Kingdom
ro•••••
Upgrade to Pro to see
GB-PPON PXJY-2454-CZWD
Key dates
- Future Signature Date
- 9 Feb 2026 · Scheduled
Full notice record
57 detailsEverything the publisher included in this notice, organised by section. Contact details hidden: upgrade to Pro to see
Organisations
| Party 1 › Name | Cardiff and Vale University Health Board |
| Party 1 › Address › Street | Woodland House Road, Maes Y Coed Road |
| Party 1 › Address › Town / city | Cardiff |
| Party 1 › Address › Postcode | CF14 4HH |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 1 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKL22 |
| Party 1 › Role | buyer |
| Party 1 › Link | http://nwssp.nhs.wales/ourservices/procurement-services/ |
| Party 1 › Classification › Classification 1 › Description | Public authority - sub-central government |
| Party 1 › Classification › Classification 2 › Description | Welsh devolved regulations apply |
| Party 2 › Name | NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership (hosted by Velindre University NHS Trust) |
| Party 2 › Address › Street | 4-5 Charnwood Court Heol Billingsley |
| Party 2 › Address › Town / city | Cardiff |
| Party 2 › Address › Postcode | CF15 7QZ |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 2 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKL15 |
| Party 2 › Role | Procuring entity |
| Party 2 › Role Details | The NHS Wales Shared Services Partnership (NWSSP) plays a vital role in supporting NHS Wales by delivering a wide range of professional, technical, and administrative services. It is hosted by Velindre University NHS Trust, which means Velindre provides the governance and infrastructure to support NWSSP’s operations, but NWSSP itself serves all NHS organisations across Wales. |
| Party 3 › Name | Promega UK LTD |
| Party 3 › Address › Street | 2 Benham Court |
| Party 3 › Address › Town / city | Hampshire |
| Party 3 › Address › Postcode | SO16 7QJ |
| Party 3 › Address › Country | GB |
| Party 3 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 3 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKJ36 |
| Party 3 › Role | supplier |
| Party 3 › Business size | large |
| Party 3 › VCSEs | No |
Buyer
| Name | Cardiff and Vale University Health Board |
Tender
| Title | MAXPREP AGREEMENT |
| Status | complete |
| Procedure type | direct |
| Procedure | Below threshold - without competition |
| Lot › Status | complete |
Awards
| Title | MaxPrep Agreement |
| Status | pending |
| Value › Value incl. VAT | £37,859.18 |
| Value › Value | £31,549.32 |
| Value › Currency | GBP |
| Category | services |
| Above threshold | No |
| Supplier › Name | Promega UK LTD |
| Item › CPV › Description | Repair and maintenance services of measuring, testing and checking apparatus |
| Item › Delivery › Region (NUTS) | UKL22 |
| Item › Delivery › Country | GB |
| Item › Delivery › Country | United Kingdom |
| Contract period › Start | 28 Jun 2026 |
| Contract period › End | 27 Jun 2029 |
| Document › Document type | Award notice |
| Document › Description | Transparency notice on Find a Tender |
| Document › Link | https://www.find-tender.service.gov.uk/Notice/007119-2026 |
| Document › Published | 27 Jan 2026 |
| Milestone › Type | Future signature date |
| Milestone › Due | 9 Feb 2026 |
| Milestone › Status | scheduled |