Back to search
Find a Tender
AWARD
Complete Goods
High Pressure Vitreous Freezer
Published 2 Feb 2026
2 Feb 2026
- Primary CPV
-
42513100 *
Freezing equipment
- Location
- 🇬🇧 Edinburgh, City of, Scotland
- Value
- £267,160
- Contract
- Not specified
- Contract Types
-
42 *Industrial machineryFull CPV Breakdown
- SME suitable
- Not stated
Publisher Address
Charles Stewart House, 9-16 Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1HT, United Kingdom · UKM75
Contact
Award Criteria
- Technical requirement
- Total cost for initial term
Related tenders
University Of Edinburgh
All notices from this publisher Same CPV code
42513100 *
All notices with this CPV code
Reference: EC1055
The School of Physics and Astronomy has a requirement for a ‘High Pressure Vitreous Freezer’ (HPVF); this is a device that freezes samples to extreme low temperature at an exceptionally high rate to essentially ‘freeze a sample in time’. If a sample is cooled at a slower rate ice may form within/on fragile samples (for example cells), which would swell/crystalise and destroy the nano/microstructure of the sample. Freezing at an exceptionally high rate freezes the sample faster than ice can form, avoiding this issue.
This machine will be used for experimental sample preparation.
Awarded to
Full CPV breakdown
- 42513100 — Freezing equipment (primary)
Notice details
- Buyer type
- Other public body · Education
- Competition
- Restricted / competitive (suppliers are shortlisted first)
- Contract type
- Goods
- Bids received
- 3
- Winning supplier
- SME
- Procurement method
- Competitive procedure with negotiation
- Main category
- Goods
- Legal basis
- CELEX 32014L0024
- Notice status
- Complete
- Award status
- Active
- Options
- Purchase of sundries, additional service and machine extensions may be undertaken with the winning bidder via the Negotiated Procedure Without Prior Call For Competition
- Covered by GPA
- Yes
- Language
- EN
- Published
- 02 Feb 2026 10:37
- OCID
- ocds-h6vhtk-054368
- Notice ID
- EC1055
Competition
3
Bids received
2
Bids from SMEs
2
Foreign Bids From E U
1
Foreign Bids From Non E U
3
Electronic bids
Organisations on this notice
University Of Edinburgh
Buyer, Central Purchasing Body
Charles Stewart House, 9-16 Chambers Street, Edinburgh, EH1 1HT, United Kingdom
jp•••••
Upgrade to Pro to see
+4•••••
Upgrade to Pro to see
Supplier SME
Newtown, Wem, Shrewbury, SY4 5NU, United Kingdom
Edinburgh Sheriff Court
Review Body
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Lots (1)
Lot 1
DETAILED SPECIFICATION
ESSENTIAL:
- The ability to vitreously freeze small volumes (specimen carriers described later) of soft and liquid samples by using a combination of high pressures and liquid nitrogen
- Must achieve a minimum cooling rate of 2000K/s
- Must be able to exert pressures on the sample in the range of...
· Cancelled
Full notice record
56 detailsEverything the publisher included in this notice, organised by section. Contact details hidden: upgrade to Pro to see
Tender
| Title | High Pressure Vitreous Freezer |
| Status | complete |
| CPV › Description | Freezing equipment |
| Category | goods |
| Description | The School of Physics and Astronomy has a requirement for a ‘High Pressure Vitreous Freezer’ (HPVF); this is a device that freezes samples to extreme low temperature at an exceptionally high rate to essentially ‘freeze a sample in time’. If a sample is cooled at a slower rate ice may form within/on fragile samples (for example cells), which would swell/crystalise and destroy the nano/microstructure of the sample. Freezing at an exceptionally high rate freezes the sample faster than ice can form, avoiding this issue. This machine will be used for experimental sample preparation. |
| Lot › Award criteria › Criterion › Criterion 1 › Name | Technical requirement |
| Lot › Award criteria › Criterion › Criterion 1 › Type | quality |
| Lot › Award criteria › Criterion › Criterion 1 › Description | 50 |
| Lot › Award criteria › Criterion › Criterion 2 › Name | Total cost for initial term |
| Lot › Award criteria › Criterion › Criterion 2 › Type | cost |
| Lot › Award criteria › Criterion › Criterion 2 › Description | 50 |
| Lot › Has options | Yes |
| Lot › Options › Description | Purchase of sundries, additional service and machine extensions may be undertaken with the winning bidder via the Negotiated Procedure Without Prior Call For Competition |
| Lot › Status | cancelled |
| Item › CPV › CPV 1 › Description | Optical instruments |
| Item › CPV › CPV 2 › Description | Industrial machinery |
| Item › Delivery › Region (NUTS) | UKM75 |
| Item › Delivery Location › Description | City of Edinburgh |
| Procedure type | selective |
| Procedure | Competitive procedure with negotiation |
| Covered by | GPA |
Awards
| Status | active |
| Supplier › Name | SciQuip Ltd |
Organisations
| Party 1 › Name | University Of Edinburgh |
| Party 1 › Identifier › Legal Name | University Of Edinburgh |
| Party 1 › Address › Street | Charles Stewart House, 9-16 Chambers Street |
| Party 1 › Address › Town / city | Edinburgh |
| Party 1 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKM75 |
| Party 1 › Address › Postcode | EH1 1HT |
| Party 1 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 1 › Role › Role 1 | buyer |
| Party 1 › Role › Role 2 | Central purchasing body |
| Party 1 › Link | http://www.ed.ac.uk |
| Party 1 › Buyer profile | https://www.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/search/Search_AuthProfile.a... |
| Party 1 › Classification › Classification 1 › Description | Body governed by public law |
| Party 1 › Classification › Classification 2 › Description | Education |
| Party 2 › Name | SciQuip Ltd |
| Party 2 › Identifier › Legal Name | SciQuip Ltd |
| Party 2 › Address › Street | Newtown, Wem |
| Party 2 › Address › Town / city | Shrewbury |
| Party 2 › Address › Region (NUTS) | UKG2 |
| Party 2 › Address › Postcode | SY4 5NU |
| Party 2 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 2 › Role | supplier |
| Party 2 › Business size | sme |
| Party 3 › Name | Edinburgh Sheriff Court |
| Party 3 › Identifier › Legal Name | Edinburgh Sheriff Court |
| Party 3 › Address › Town / city | Edinburgh |
| Party 3 › Address › Country | United Kingdom |
| Party 3 › Role | Review body |
Buyer
| Name | University Of Edinburgh |
Contracts
| Status | active |
| Value › Value | £267,160 |
| Value › Currency | GBP |
| Signed | 5 Jan 2026 |
Links
| Href | https://api.publiccontractsscotland.gov.uk/v1/Notice?id=ocds-r6ebe6-00... |